March 5, 2019

april 2019 events

Neil Patrick Harris Author Event!

Friday, April 5th  – 6:30 pm  PLEASE NOTE THE CHANGE IN TIME!

at Presser Hall on the Agnes Scott College Campus

Join us on Friday, April 5th, at 7 p.m. at Agnes Scott College’s Presser Hall for an evening of magic and moderated conversation with award-winning actor Neil Patrick Harris as he celebrates the publication of the second book in his New York Times bestselling book series, The Magic Misfits: The Second Story. This is a ticketed event, and the purchase of a Book Ticket will include a presigned copy of The Magic Misfits: The Second Story. Each purchase of a Book Ticket also gets fans one raffle ticket. Raffle tickets enter fans into a drawing for an exclusive VIP meet & greet with the author immediately following the event. Fans who purchase additional books on the evening of the event will receive additional raffle tickets. The author will then choose 5 (each with a +1) lucky readers for a meet & greet to snap photos and have their books personalized.

Tickets can be purchased only on Eventbrite. The cost of a Book Ticket is $20. This includes a presigned copy of The Magic Misfits: The Second Story. Additional signed copies, as well as signed copies of the paperback edition of The Magic Misfits, will be available for purchase on the evening of the event.

A limited number of free Companion Tickets will be available for parents or guardians escorting children to the event. To claim a Companion Ticket, you must purchase a Book Ticket. You cannot claim more than one Companion Ticket per Book Ticket. Please reach out to us if you have any questions!

This event has sold out. In like ten minutes. There is a wait list.

Purchase tickets here!


Tanya Valentine Book Launch Storytime!

Sunday, April 7th  – 2 pm

Join us for a very special story time with local author Tanya Valentine! She will be launching her new picture book, Little Taco Truck. Learn more about the book below! There will be a story time, a book signing, and TREATS! We hope you can celebrate with us.

This event is free and open to the public. Be sure to purchase a copy of Little Taco Truck from us in order to earn a place in the signing line!
More about Little Taco Truck:

Little Taco Truck serves up tasty treats to the hungry workers on Union Street . . . until one day, Miss Falafel shows up with her baked pita bread and crunchy chickpea fritters–and parks in his space. The next day, Miss Falafel is there again, and this time she’s brought Gumbo Jumbo and Annie Arepas with her. Little Taco Truck’s headlights dim. What if people like Gumbo Jumbo’s spicy stew and Annie Arepas’s warm cornbread cakes more than they like his tacos? When more trucks arrive the following day and there’s no space left for Little Taco Truck, he swishes his wipers to hide his tears and heads home. At last, with some ingenuity and help from new friends, Little Taco Truck wins back his coveted parking spot. And guess what? There is room enough for everyone!

Packed with flavor and savory smells, this irresistible read-aloud about friendship and determination is perfect for even the youngest truck and taco fans.


Kate T. Parker Photographer / Author Event!

Sunday, April 7th  – 4 pm at Mason Fine Art

The photographer behind Strong is the New Pretty is back with a new book, and we couldn’t be more honored to partner with Mason Fine Art to present Kate T. Parker for the launch of The Heart of a Boy: Celebrating the Strength and Spirit of Boyhood! Kate will be in conversation with author Emily Giffin. Their conversation will be followed by a Q&A and book signing. Join us at Mason Fine Art for what is sure to be a meaningful and memorable evening! Learn more about THE HEART OF A BOY below.

This event is free and open to the public. Be sure to purchase a copy of The Heart of a Boy from us to earn a place in the signing line! Books will be sold on site at Mason Fine Art.

Mason Fine Art is located at 415 Plasters Avenue, Atlanta 30324.

More about The Heart of a Boy:

Boys can be wild. But they can also be gentle. Bursting with confidence, but not afraid to be vulnerable. Ready to run fearlessly downfield—or reach out to a friend in need.

Kate T. Parker, author of the bestselling book about girls, Strong Is the New Pretty, now turns her lens on boys, and in nearly 200 compelling photographs captures the true heart of a boy, in all its richness and variety.

The Heart of a Boy is a deeply felt celebration of boyhood as it’s etched in the faces and bodies of dozens of boys, ages 5 to 18. There’s the pensive look of a skateboarder caught in a moment between rides. The years of dedication in a ballet dancer’s poise. The love of a younger brother hugging his older brother. The unself-conscious joy of a goofy grin with a missing tooth. The casual intimacy of two friends at a lemonade stand. The shyness of a lone boy and his model boat. The intensity in a football huddle. There are guitarists, fencers, wrestlers, star-gazers, a pilot—it’s the world of our sons, in all their amazing variety and difference.


Ashley Poston Author Event!

Monday, April 15th  – 7 pm

We at Little Shop are huge fans of Geekerella, so you know we’re excited to welcome author Ashley Poston back to the shop while she’s on tour for the new companion novel, The Princess and the Fangirl! Learn more about the new book below. Ashley will be in conversation with Kimberly Jones, the author of I’m Not Dying with You Tonight (out this fall). This conversation is NOT to be missed!

This event is free and open to the public. Be sure to purchase a copy of The Princess and the Fangirl from us to earn a place in the signing line!

More about The Princess and the Fangirl:
The Prince and the Pauper gets a modern makeover in this adorable, witty, and heartwarming young adult novel set in the Geekerella universe by national bestselling author Ashley Poston.

Imogen Lovelace is an ordinary fangirl on an impossible mission: save her favorite character, Princess Amara, from being killed off from her favorite franchise, Starfield. The problem is, Jessica Stone—the actress who plays Princess Amara—wants nothing more than to leave the intense scrutiny of the fandom behind. If this year’s ExcelsiCon isn’t her last, she’ll consider her career derailed.

When a case of mistaken identity throws look-a-likes Imogen and Jess together, they quickly become enemies. But when the script for the Starfield sequel leaks, and all signs point to Jess, she and Imogen must trade places to find the person responsible. That’s easier said than done when the girls step into each other’s shoes and discover new romantic possibilities, as well as the other side of intense fandom. As these “princesses” race to find the script-leaker, they must rescue themselves from their own expectations, and redefine what it means to live happily ever after.


Jaye Robin Brown and Brenda Rufener Author Author Event!

Wednesday, April 24th  – 6:30 pm

YA fans rejoice!! Authors Jaye Robin Brown and Brenda Rufener are joining forces to discuss their newest books, The Meaning of Birds and Since We Last Spoke. Learn more about these fantastic titles below.

This even is free and open to the public. You must purchase a copy of either new book from us in order to earn a place in the signing line!

More about The Meaning of Birds:

Before, Jessica has always struggled with anger issues, but come sophomore year that all changes when Vivi crashes into her life. As their relationship blossoms, Vivi not only helps Jess deal with her pain, she also encourages her to embrace her talent as an artist. And for the first time, it feels like the future is filled with possibilities. After In the midst of senior year, Jess’s perfect world is erased when Vivi suddenly passes away. Reeling from the devastating loss, Jess pushes everyone away, and throws out her plans to go to art school. Because art is Vivi and Vivi is gone forever.

Desperate for an escape, Jess gets consumed in her work-study program, letting all of her dreams die. Until she makes an unexpected new friend who shows her a new way to channel her anger, passion, and creativity. Although Jess may never draw again, if she can find a way to heal and room in her heart, she just might be able to forge a new path for herself without Vivi

More about Since We Last Spoke:

When true love is shattered by tragedy—how much would you risk to save it all?

When Aggi Frank and Max Granger finally admitted their feelings for each other last December, it felt like love was beautiful and endless… until it wasn’t.

A fatal car accident involving their older siblings throws their lives into sudden chaos. And with a restraining order now in place between the two bitter households, Aggi and Max’s love runs cold. Being together again seems like a distant fantasy, even though they share the same driveway.

Still, Plum Lake is a small town, and staying apart can’t last forever. Aggi and Max eventually reunite at a lake-house party hosted by a mutual friend and break the ice after a year of silence. But just as they begin to rebuild their relationship, the unthinkable happens when Aggi’s little sister, Grace, flees from home after their father spirals into a fit of rage. With a support system of friends close by, Aggi and Max must confront each other and their families in the hopes of mending all the broken pieces.

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon, Brenda Rufener’s (Where I Live) second heartbreaking and uplifting novel captures the ups and downs of star-crossed lovers in the face of unimaginable grief, the fragile balance of their family relations, and the rocky journey to healing, peace, and forgiveness.


Celebrate your favorite independent bookstore on April 27th!

Details forthcoming!