March 17, 2017

april events

Cecelia Vinesse

Thursday, April 6th – 7 pm

Join us on Thursday, April 6 at 7 pm to meet Cecilia Vinesse! Her debut YA novel “Seven Days of You” chronicles the last week of a young woman’s time in Tokyo. Sophia is all set for a perfect last week, but then an old and very complicated flame returns. Local favorite Becky Albertalli says, “How hard am I crushing on Seven Days of You? I’m crying, laughing, aching, and squealing all at once. I would live in this book if I could.” Don’t miss your opportunity to see the author and learn more about this fabulous debut!

 

Becky Albertalli

Tuesday, April 11th – 7 pm

Award winning YA author Becky Albertalli returns to Little Shop to launch her new novel, The Upside of Unrequited.  17-year-old Molly has never experienced love … or at least the reciprocal kind.  When her twin sister’s new girlfriend introduces Molly to a cute boy, she might finally get her chance!  But what about that other cute, not-my-type guy at work?  In her typical style, Becky speaks to the authentic experiences of young love.  Added bonus: beloved characters from Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda make guest appearances!

 

Decatur Storefront Saturday

Saturday, April 15 – Noon until 5 pm

Twice a year Decatur’s stores come together to host Storefront Saturday, a city-wide shopping event. The day includes prizes, pop-ups, snacks, specials, and oh-so-much more at participating local shops. Stay tuned to TheDecaturMinute.com for details.

You can find a complete list of participating stores here.

 

Andrew McCarthy

Thursday, April 20th – ? pm

Decatur Library, in cooperation with Georgia Center for the Book

Yes, THE Andrew McCarthy, the one you know as a travel writer, and possibly as a film star from Pretty in Pink or St Elmo’s Fire, has written his first book of fiction, and we are so excited to meet him. Just Fly Away reveals a soulful, thoughtful writer. The novel’s heroine is a valiant, determined rebel who refuses to let an explosive family secret destroy or define her life, but who instead seeks the wisdom and courage to understand and, possibly, forgive. This event is free, but a book must be purchased to get a ticket for the signing line.

 

On The Same Page Sleepover

Friday evening to Saturday morning, April 21st – 22nd | Current 3-5 Grade Girls

With Sunny & Krista

Cost: $100

Are you a girl currently in 3rd-5th grade? Do you love sleepovers? Have you ever wondered what goes on at Little Shop of Stories after hours? Now’s your chance to find out! Miss Krista and Miss Sunny are hosting a girls-only slumber party at the bookstore! Join us for an unforgettable evening of playing games, eating pizza and popcorn, watching movies, reading books, making crafts, sharing secrets, telling stories, and trying to get some sleep (no promises!) Breakfast will be provided in the morning. Just bring a sleeping bag, pillow, pajamas, toothbrush, your favorite doll or stuffed animal, and a smile! Cost is $100, payable by cash or check. All proceeds will benefit On The Same Page, our community-wide reading initiative, bringing families together around the same book. Space is limited to 20 girls. You must register in advance.

Kindness Storytime

Sunday, April 23rd – 3 pm

This month, our theme is Poetry: seeing ourselves and seeing others through poetry! Join us for a great storytime where we read favorites like Shel Silverstein, as well as poems by poets you may not even know yet!

 

DK Star Wars Visual Dictionary Tour

Sunday, April 23rd – 2 pm

DK authors and Star Wars experts Tricia Barr, Adam Bray, and Cole Horton are travelling across the country, signing their new Star Wars Visual Encyclopedia and hosting a family-friendly trivia round, and we are so excited they’ve chosen us as the place to be when they come to town! We are thrilled to meet them, play Star Wars trivia for fun and prizes, and give away fun goodies to all who come to meet them! With a galaxy of information on every page, Star Wars™ Visual Encyclopedia is the ultimate illustrated guide to everything Star Wars, including material from Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, and features more than 3000 characters, vehicles, droids and objects.

 

Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Tuesday, April 25th– 11 am

Join us for a very special story time on Tuesday, April 25 at 11 am with illustrator Debbie Ohi! Debbie is the illustrator for “Sea Monkey and Bob” (written by Aaron Reynolds). She has also written and illustrated “Where Are My Books?” and “Sam and Eva.” Get ready for a fun morning of stories and pictures!

 

Hey Everbody!

It’s the Third Annual

Independent Bookstore Day

April 29th

Hooray for indies!  Every year, independent bookstores around the country celebrate AND are celebrated on this day.

We have lots in store for you, including book swag that you can’t get anywhere else!

Every store is unique and independent, and every party is different.

There will be exclusive books and literary items that you can only get on that day. Not before. Not after. Not online.

Little Shop of Stories will be featuring the following events and authors:

Make your own Little Golden Book

Saturday, April 29th – while supplies last!

Golden Books are 75 years old this year!  To celebrate, come in all day (while supplies last, of course) and create your very own new classic to take home!

Timmy Failure Party

Saturday, April 29th – 2 pm

Calling all Timmy Failure Fans!  We are celebrating the newest book in one of our favorite series with an event not to be missed! Total Takeover is a party filled with “GREATNESS” (thanks, Timmy), giveaways, raffles, Timmy Failure sunglasses, Timmy Failure posters, and photo op with a five foot tall, inflatable polar bear named Total, Timmy’s partner. Of course, we will have plenty of copies of Timmy Failure: The Cat Stole My Pants on sale that day as well!

Laura Silverman

Saturday, April 29th – 5 pm

We are so excited to host the launch party for author Laura Silverman and her debut Young Adult novel, Girl Out of Water. Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will love the story of 17 year old Anise, California surfer girl whose last summer before college is shattered when her father drags her to Nebraska, where she must find her ground before her whole world changes all over again. Heartwarming and emotionally powerful, we are excited for you to discover this book by our newest neighborhood writer on this Independent bookstore Day!

Ashley Poston

Saturday, April 29th – 7 pm

“Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.”

That quote comes from Ashley’s website. If the book is only half as cool as the description then it should be pretty awesome. There’s more at casuallybeingweird.com.

 

Natalie Nelson

Sunday, April 30th – 3 pm

It’s the start of the Children’s Book Council’s Children’s Book Week, and to kick off the celebration, local illustrator, Natalie Nelson (last year’s wonderful King of the Birds), will be sharing her new book, Uncle Holland, the story about a boy who transforms from a troublemaker into an artist.  This special story time will include a craft activity as well.