May 1, 2017

june events

Andrea D. Lewis Author Event!

Friday, June 2nd – 7 pm

We are so excited to host the book launch for local author Andrea D. Lewis’ children’s book, Valerie’s New Friends! The book describes Lewis’s story of her own childhood growing up in southern New Jersey as the only Black child in her class and neighborhood. Valerie’s story will help children learn how to celebrate differences and diversity among their friends. Join us for a reading and signing.


Book Release Party for Laurel Snyder’s Orphan Island!

Saturday, June 3rd – 7 pm

Laurel Snyder will be here to kick off the release of one of the most highly anticipated middle grade novels of 2017: Orphan Island. This is very big deal, so we’re going to have a very big party.

It already has a starred review from Publishers Weekly and an excellent review from Kirkus.

It is difficult to talk too much about this book without giving too much away. It is truly unique and is best discovered by reading. Laurel has created a masterful work from a very unusual premise.

You can read about Laurel Snyder and all her books at her website.

Here are some blurbs from HarperCollins’ website:

Critical Praise

“Laurel Snyder has written a story that curls around the heart and pulls in tight—a meditation on the power and wisdom and closeness and sorrow of childhood. A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true. I loved every second of it.” — Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal-winning author of The Girl Who Drank the Moon

“An elegant and thoughtful meditation on the joys and sorrows of growing up, with lyrical prose, characters that feel as alive as your dearest friends, and a vivid setting sure to enchant young readers. A work of extraordinary heart.” — Claire Legrand, author of Some Kind of Happiness

“A visionary, poignant, astonishingly lovely fable of childhood and change. This is a book to lose yourself in, and to never forget.” — Anne Ursu, author of The Real Boy

“Orphan Island is a masterpiece—both timeless and immediate. Snyder’s book, like the island within it, contains all of the joys, wonders, and terrors of childhood. Every young reader needs this book; every grown reader needs it even more.” — Jonathan Auxier, New York Times bestselling author of The Night Gardener

“Through the precocious Jinny, Snyder delivers a contemplative commentary on the transition from childhood to adolescence, and from ignorance to awareness.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Kim Crockett-Corson Author Event!

Sunday, June 4th – 3 pm

Atlanta author Kim Crockett-Corson is coming to Little Shop to share her new children’s book, My Good Morning! This adorable picture book follows an independent and energetic little girl determined to get ready for the school day all by herself. Parents…does this sound familiar? This event is free and open to the public. You must purchase a copy of the book from us in order to enter the signing line. Don’t miss this opportunity to learn about a fun new book from a local author who was inspired by her own adventures in parenting!


Summer Brain Quest Kick Off Party!

Saturday, June 10th – 3 pm

Summer’s here! Which means it’s time for poolside parties, sweet tea in the sunshine, afternoon storms…and reading! We at Little Shop believe that our brains should be exercised all year long. We’re excited to host a Summer Brain Quest Kick Off Party where we will eat snacks, listen to music, and do some fun activities to keep our brains sharp. This event is designed for kids 5 and up. We’ll have Brain Quest products available for purchase, but the event itself is free and open to the public. Come party with Little Shop and STAY SHARP this summer!  Stimulate your brain with these fun stories and activity books and keep your neurons partying all summer long!

Help Paint The Town Grey!

May was National Brain Tumor Awareness Month. We’re extending it a bit.

Since our grey matter matters so much, we are proudly partnering with Worthmore Jewelers and other Decatur businesses to bring awareness and raise money for the National Brain Tumor Society and Piedmont Hospital! We’ll be donating 20% of the sales from any Brain Quest books and all the other books you see on our “Feed Your Brain” table on this day.

Information on what is going on locally for National Brain Tumor Awareness Month can be found here.


Rachel Ballinger Author Event!

Wednesday, June 14th – 7 pm

YouTube sensation Rachel Ballinger has written her first book, and Little Shop is lucky enough to be a stop on her tour! 101 Things That Piss Me Off is a collection of short, quick-witted essays based on Ballinger‘s YouTube series, “You Know What Pisses Me Off.” The book will feature material seen online as well as some new, book-exclusive rants! Through her light-hearted and comical anger, Ballinger demonstrates that being passionate and expressive about the things we care about is both important and fun. Don’t miss your chance to see this delightful online personality IRL!

This will be a ticketed event. For a mere $18.18 (that’s the price of one book, including tax) you will receive one pre-signed copy of 101 Things That Piss Me Off and entry to the event for up to one person (and, if desired, one companion ticket for an accompanying adult). For a mere $1,836.18 you will receive 101 pre-signed copies of 101 Things That Piss Me Off and entry to the event for up to 202 people.

This is a photo line event.

You will receive a pre-signed copy of the book upon your arrival in the bookstore. Your ticket number is your reserved place in the signing line.  You will be lined up in order and then get to meet Rachel and have a quick picture taken.  This order is not based on when you arrive!  We cannot guarantee the length of time that any author will be with us.

Rachel will not be giving a presentation. There will be no personalization of your book and no opportunity to get any memorabilia signed.

Tickets are currently available in person or over the phone (404-373-6300) only. Tickets are limited.


Laura Silverman Author Event!

Saturday, June 24th – 3 pm

We are so excited to host author Laura Silverman and her debut Young Adult novel, Girl Out of Water. Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will love the story of 17 year old Anise, California surfer girl whose last summer before college is shattered when her father drags her to Nebraska, where she must find her ground before her whole world changes all over again. Heartwarming and emotionally powerful, we are excited for you to discover this book by our newest neighborhood writer!

Author Becky Albertalli (Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, The Upside of Unrequited) will be moderating!


Amy Young Author / Illustrator Event!

Friday, June 30th – 11 am

We love sequels to fun picture books, so we can’t wait for a special storytime with Amy Young to celebrate the follow-up to “A Unicorn Named Sparkle” called A New Friend for Sparkle! There will be stories, activities, party favors…the whole shebang. Come have a ball with an amazing author and illustrator!

You can read more about Amy here!