January 10, 2020

march 2020 events

All Eyes on Amphibians! An Atlanta Science Festival Event – CANCELED!!!

Saturday, March 14th  – 12 pm

Out of an abundance of caution, this event has been canceled. It was to involve a hands-on experience.

Maybe next year’s ASF!

I was to have been presented by: Amphibian Foundation and Little Shop of Stories


Spring Story Time with Randi Sonenshine!

Sunday, March 22nd  – 2 pm

Spring is coming, and we can’t WAIT. To add to the excitement, we are thrilled to welcome Georgia author Randi Sonenshine to the shop for a special SPRING STORY TIME! Her new picture book, The Nest That Wren Built, is the perfect addition to your family’s library this season. Learn more about the title below! Join us for this and other wonderful spring stories to welcome the new season on Sunday, March 22 at 2pm.

This event is free and open to all. Be sure to purchase a copy of The Nest That Wren Built to earn a place in the signing line!

More about The Nest That Wren Built:

Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to this lyrical picture book depicting how Carolina wrens build a nest for their young.

This is the bark, snippets of twine,
spidery rootlets, and needles of pine

that shape the nest that Wren built.

In the rhyming style of “The House That Jack Built,” this poem about the care and specificity that Carolina wrens put into building a nest is at once tender and true to life. Papa and Mama Wren gather treasures of the forest, from soft moss for a lining to snakeskin for warding off predators. Randi Sonenshine’s lilting stanzas, woven with accurate and unexpected details about Carolina wrens, and Anne Hunter’s gentle, inviting illustrations reveal the mysterious lives of these birds and impart an appreciation for the wonder of the life cycles around us. Back matter includes a glossary and additional interesting facts about wrens.

Previously This Month


Peter H. Reynolds at Decatur Library!

Tuesday, March 3rd  – 6 pm

It’s really happening!!! Little Shop of Stories and our friends at the Georgia Center for the Book are excited and honored beyond belief to welcome PETER H. REYNOLDS to Decatur on tour for his latest picture book Be You! Peter’s words and illustrations have been inspiring children and adults alike for years, and it is truly such a special privilege to hear him speak. Join us on March 3 at 6pm at the Georgia Center for the Book for a presentation followed by a signing! Learn more about Be You! below, and mark your calendars now! You do NOT want to miss this incredible opportunity.

This event is free and open to all. Be sure to purchase a copy of Be You! from Little Shop of Stories in order to earn a place in the signing line! We will be selling books on site.

More about Be You!:
Creative visionary of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, and The Dot, #1 New York Times bestseller Peter H. Reynolds creates a joyful celebration of individuality–and staying true to Y-O-U!

Be curious…
Be adventurous…
Be brave…
BE YOU!

Discover a joyful reminder of the ways that every child is unique and special, from the beloved creator of The Dot, Happy Dreamer, and New York Times bestseller, The Word Collector. Here, Reynolds reminds readers to “be your own work of art.” To be patient, persistent, and true. Because there is one, and only one, YOU.

In the tradition of books like Oh, the Places You’ll Go! and I Wish You More comes a wholly original, inspirational celebration of individuality as only Peter H. Reynolds can create!


Ally Carter Author Event!

Wednesday, March 4th  – 6 pm

Middle grade mystery fans REJOICE! New York Times Bestselling YA author Ally Carter has written her first middle grade novel, and Winterborne Home of Vengeance and Valor is an absolute BLAST. Join us for a special visit in the shop as she tours the country for this exciting new release! Learn more about the book below and start sharpening your swords, readers…VENGEANCE IS COMING.

This event is free and open to all. Be sure to purchase a copy of Winterborne Home of Vengeance and Valor to earn a place in the signing line!

More about Winterborne Home of Vengeance and Valor:
New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter’s middle grade debut is full of mystery, mayhem, and friendship, and it will keep you guessing until the very end.

April had absolutely no intention of becoming the only person who knows that Gabriel Winterborne, the missing-and-presumed-dead billionaire, is actually living in the basement of Winterborne House, sharpening his swords and looking for vengeance. Now it’s up to April to keep him alive. But there’s only so much a twelve-year-old girl can do, so April must turn to the other orphans for help. Together, they’ll have to unravel the riddle of a missing heir and a creepy legend, and find a secret key, before the only home they’ve ever known is lost to them forever.

Here’s a Q&A with Ally from Publishers Weekly.


Carmen Agra Deedy at First Baptist Church! – POSTPONED!!!

Saturday, March 7th  – 11 am

Postponed due to illness. We hope to reschedule soon.

HOORAY! Atlanta local and Little Shop favorite Carmen Agra Deedy is out with a new picture book, and we are honored that she’ll be launching Rita & Ralph’s Rotten Day with us! We will host her in partnership with the Georgia Center for the Book at DCPL at Carreker Hall, located inside of First Baptist Church of Decatur. Learn more about this delightful new book below, and mark your calendars now for this launch event you do NOT want to miss with one of the greatest storytellers in the world!

This event is free and open to all. Be sure to purchase a copy of Rita & Ralph’s Rotten Day from us to earn a place in the signing line! We will be selling books on site.

More about Rita & Ralph’s Rotten Day:

Have you ever been REALLY mad at your best friend?

In two little houses,
on two little hills,

lived two best friends…

So begins the story of Rita and Ralph. Every day they meet to play beneath the apple tree. It’s always fun and games — until one roundly rotten day when a new game means someone ends up crying. Who knew it could be so hard to say “I’m sorry”?

Just when it seems nothing will ever be right again, a surprising thing happens. The old friends try something new, that isn’t new at all. Something they’ve done a hundred times…

Carmen Agra Deedy’s brilliant storytelling combined with Pete Oswald’s spirited illustrations make for a comforting tale of healing and true friendship.

StacyPlays Signing Event!

Saturday, March 7th  – 4 pm

Little Shop of Stories is thrilled to welcome StacyPlays to Decatur! She is on tour for her newest book, Wild Rescuers: Expedition on the Tundra. Learn more about the book below! Please read the following event details carefully so that you know what to expect. This is a signing event ONLY. There will NOT be a presentation or reading.

1. In order to enter the signing line, you must purchase a StacyPlays Signing Ticket. Each ticket comes with a copy of Wild Rescuers: Expedition on the Tundra to be signed at the event. This ticket will allow a family into the signing line, but if you need more than one copy of Wild Rescuers: Expedition on the Tundra, you will need to purchase more than one ticket!

Tickets can be purchased here.

2. StacyPlays WILL sign other books as well! She will sign books brought from home as well as books purchased that day. We will have the other WILD RESCUERS books for sale at the shop (while supplies last)!

3. Photos with StacyPlays are permitted!

Please note that this signing will be taking place in our upstairs loft space. Our building is very old, and we do not have an elevator. If you are unable to use stairs, please send us a message, and we will coordinate a signing plan for you!

More about Wild Rescuers: Expedition on the Tundra:

A New York Times bestselling series!

From StacyPlays, the YouTube sensation with over 2 million subscribers, comes the exhilarating third book in her Minecraft-inspired adventure series about a girl raised by wolves.

Stacy always knew that the intelligent, playful wolves who raised her weren’t like other animals. Normal wolf packs don’t spend their time rescuing animals and caring for an orphaned girl. But lately, Stacy’s wolves have revealed to her just how special they are—supernaturally special.

The wolves each have their own unique ability: they can breathe underwater, run at impossible speeds, heal wounds, and more. They’re extraordinary—but how did they get that way?

Determined to uncover the truth, Stacy leads the pack north. But the harsh tundra biome pushes the pack to its limits. Can they survive long enough to discover the truth? And is Stacy prepared for what the truth actually is?

Fans of Minecraft: The Crash and PopularMMOs Presents: A Hole New World will love this illustrated, action-packed series!


Do you Have What it Takes to Be a HUMAN Crash-Test Dummy?! An Atlanta Science Festival Event

Sunday, March 8th  – 2 pm

Jennifer Swanson, author of Save the Crash-test Dummies is coming to Little Shop!

Cars take us to work. To school. Can you imagine a world without them? It’s not easy! And who do we have to thank for helping to make our cars safe? A crash-test dummy! Come join us for FUN and interactive trip through the history of car safety engineering and find out if YOU have what it takes to become a HUMAN crash-test dummy!

Also on hand will be TeMika Grooms, the illustrator of Save the Crash-test Dummies. Jennifer and TeMika be available after the event to sign books!

Presented by: Peachtree Publishers, Jennifer Swanson Books, Little Shop of Stories


Sarah Watson in conversation with Kimberly Jones!

Tuesday, March 10th  – 6:30 pm

JUST ANNOUNCED! Little Shop is so excited to be launching Most Likely, the highly anticipated YA debut from Sarah Watson, the creator of the hit series The Bold Type. She’ll be in the shop discussing this incredible book and so much more with Kimberly Jones, one of the authors of I’m Not Dying with You Tonight (and, as we are always eager to mention, a former manager of Little Shop of Stories). Learn more about Most Likely below and mark your calendars NOW for Tuesday, March 10 to meet this amazing Hollywood screenwriter who’s jumping into the world of books!

This event is free and open to all. Be sure to purchase a copy of Most Likely from us to earn a place in the signing line!

More about Most Likely:
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold Type comes an empowering and heartfelt novel about a future female president’s senior year of high school.

Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha (listed in alphabetical order out of fairness) have been friends since kindergarten. Now they’re in their senior year, facing their biggest fears about growing up and growing apart. But there’s more than just college on the horizon. One of these girls is destined to become the president of the United States. The mystery, of course, is which girl gets the gig.

Is it Ava, the picture-perfect artist who’s secretly struggling to figure out where she belongs? Or could it be CJ, the one who’s got everything figured out…except how to fix her terrible SAT scores? Maybe it’s Jordan, the group’s resident journalist, who knows she’s ready for more than their small Ohio suburb can offer. And don’t overlook Martha, who will have to overcome all the obstacles that stand in the way of her dreams.

This is the story of four best friends who have one another’s backs through every new love, breakup, stumble, and success–proving that great friendships can help young women achieve anything…even a seat in the Oval Office.


Cassandra Clare Author Event!

Wednesday, March 11th  – 7 pm  – at Presser Hall on the campus of Agnes Scott College